Big setback to AIADMK, 15 party leaders including Nainar Nagendran join BJP

Amidst the ongoing turmoil in the Tamil Nadu politics, at least 15 AIADMK leaders from Tamil Nadu joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday. The leaders joined the BJP in the presence of party president Amit Shah in New Delhi.

Among the leaders who joined the saffron party are: Former Industries Minister Nainar Nagendran, former MLA of Arcot and AIADMK cadre Srinivasan and ex-Vellore Mayor P Karthiyayini. Nagendran belongs to the politically powerful Thevar community in Tamil Nadu. The development is seen as a big setback to the K Palaniswamy government.

The defection of AIADMK leaders comes in the backdrop of a merger between warring O Panneerselvam and E Palaniswami factions in the party. The two factions had recently merged into one with OPS taking charge as Deputy Chief Minister of the state. However, the government is still facing threat from third party faction led by TTV Dinakaran.

It is to be noted that at least 19 AIADMK MLAs withdrew their support from the ruling Tamil Nadu party after the two warring factions of AIADMK – led by Panneerselvam and Palaniswami announced a merger. The 19 rebel MLAs submitted memorandums to Tamil Nadu Governor C Vidyasagar Rao, saying they had no confidence in Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami.

Speculations were made earlier that a number of DMK and AIADMK leaders and workers were expected to join BJP this month-end when party president Amit Shah visits the state in August end.

Source: Zee News