BJP achieves landslide victory in Chandigarh MC Polls

20 December, 2016: The results of Chandigarh Municipal Corporation elections were announced on Tuesday in which BJP achieved a landslide victory. Out of 26 seats, BJP won an impressive 20 seats with Congress restricted to just 4 seats. Other two seats were won by BJP’s partner in Punjab, SAD and an independent candidate respectively.

Both Congress and BJP contested from all 26 wards, while BSP had also put up candidates in the fray from 17 wards. The Municipal Corporation has 36 members, of which 26 are elected councillors, nine are nominated councillors and one is an MP (ex-officio member of the House). At present, BJP has 15 councillors, Congress has nine, BSP has one and one is independent candidate.

While the BJP tried to cash in on demonetisation, Congress had made it a major issue with its city unit leaders saying the move was implemented without any “application of mind” as it has put the public to “great hardships”.

Around 51 percent voters exercised their franchise for 26 wards of Chandigarh Municipal Corporation the polling to which passed off peacefully.