BSP to contest all MP seats alone: No tie up with congress

The BSP on Sunday said that it was not in talks with the Congress for an alliance for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly polls slated for later this year. A senior state leader of the Mayawati-led party added that it would, as things stand today, contest all 230 Assembly seats in the state.

BSP’s decision quashes hopes of Congress that aimed for a pre-poll alliance with ‘like-minded’ parties for the assembly elections.

  • BSP has started preparations to contest all 230 seats in the state.
  • Ram Achal Rajbhar, as national general secretary and has given the charge of MP.
  • BSP ruled out any such alliance with the Congress.

The party has divided MP in four zonal units from organisational structure — Bhopal, Indore, Rewa and Gwalior — and put senior state leaders, who come from different castes, in charge of each. It has also decided to expand its booth-level committees — from six or seven members at present to at least 23 members in each booth committee so that workers from more caste and categories can be given representation in party organisation, according to leaders.

Congress leaders including state PCC President Kamal Nath and AICC General Secretary in charge of MP, Deepak Babaria had claimed a fortnight ago that the Congress was in talks with like-minded parties for alliances before the MP elections.

The Congress leaders had, in fact, claimed that the alliances were being worked out keeping in mind not only the state elections but the 2019 Lok Sabha elections as well. The talk of alliances came after the successes notched by the BSP and SP typing up in UP for Lok Sabha and assembly by polls.

Assembly polls in Madhya Pradesh are likely to be held in November or December this year.

In the 2013 Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections, the Congress and the BSP polled 36.38 per cent and 6.29 per cent of the votes respectively against the BJP’s 44.88 per cent.

In the 2008 Assembly polls, the Congress and the BSP secured 32.85 and 8.97 per cent votes respectively, which was collectively four per cent more than the 37.64 per cent vote share of the BJP.