Bypoll results: PM thanks people for ‘continued faith’

New Delhi, Nov 22 (PTI) Prime Minister Narendra Modi today thanked people for expressing “continued faith” in BJP and its “unwavering focus on development and good governance” after the party scored victories in bypolls in Madhya Pradesh, Assam and Arunachal Pradesh besides doing well in West Bengal and Tripura.

“I thank people for the continued faith in BJP & in the BJP’s unwavering focus on development and good governance,” Modi tweeted after the results of bypolls to Lok Sabha and Assembly seats came in.

“I congratulate all BJP Karyakartas & leaders for the impressive victories in Madhya Pradesh, Assam and Arunachal Pradesh,” he said.

In Madhya Pradesh, BJP won Shahdol Lok Sabha seat and bagged the Nepanagar Assembly seat, where it increased its winning margin to 42,198 votes as against 22,178 previously.

BJP also won the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat in Assam, vacated by Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, by a margin of 1,90,219 votes.

In Arunachal Pradesh, BJP’s North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) candidate Dasanglu Pul won Hayuliang assembly by-poll. Pul is the youngest of the three wives of former Chief Minister Kalikho Pul. The bypoll was necessitated by his suicide.

“I appreciate @BJP4Bengal for the spirited performance.

BJP is fully committed to diligently serving the wonderful people of West Bengal,” Modi said in another tweet.

In West Bengal, Trinamool Congress swept Tamluk and Coochbehar Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal by a whopping margin of over 4.9 lakh votes, almost doubling the gap from 2014 polls.

The ruling party of the state also won the Monteswar assembly seat with candidates of CPI(M), Congress and BJP losing their deposits.

“Congrats to Tripura BJP Karyakartas for an impressive performance in the bypolls. Good to see BJP expanding its base in the Northeast,” the Prime Minister added.

Bye Election Results 2016

Name of States PC Name Winner/Leading AC Name Winner/Leading
Assam Lakhimpur Pradan Baruah (BJP) Baithalangso (ST) Mansing Rongpi (BJP)
Arunachal Pradesh Hayuliang (ST) Dasanglu Pul (BJP)
Madhya Pradesh Shahdol (ST) Gyan Singh (BJP) Nepanagar (ST) Manju Rajendra Dadu (BJP)
West Bengal Coochbehar (SC) Partha Pratim Ray(TMC) Monteswar Saikat Panja (TMC)
Tamluk Adhikari Dibyendu(TMC)
Tamil Nadu Thiruparankundram A.K.Bose (AIADMK)
Thanjavur M. Rengasamy (AIADMK)
Aravakurichi V. Senthilbalaji (AIADMK)
Tripura Barjala Jhumu Sarkar( CPM)
Khowai Biswajit Datta (CPM)
Puducherry Nellithope Narayanasamy (INC)


Source: PTI