DMK members distributing Rs 2000 Xerox notes to voters in Tamil Nadu’s Aravakurichi by-poll, in token for money

Today in Tamil Nadu, more than 2 lakh voters are expected to exercise their franchise in the Aravakurichi by-poll. Aravakurichi has the highest number of candidates, nearly 63 nominees are contesting to constituency which hasn’t had an MLA for two years.

As per reports, DMK members led by Baramati Union Treasurer Jeganathan have been distributing tokens to the voters to vote for their candidate Senthilbalaji. DMK candidate Senthilbalaji, a disqualified AIADMK legislator who has recently joined the DMK in the presence of DMK leader M K Stalin.

DMK members were seen handing out xerox copies of 2000 rupee notes to voters in Karavazhi panchayat, this as tokens in return for their votes. After voting for DMK, the respective voters were suggested to meet the DMK members in the evening to collect the cash.

AIADMK raised this issue with the election flying squad, post which they set out to confiscate the Rs 2000 Xerox notes. The DMK member fled the spot on hearing the arrival of the election flying squad.

AIADMK is planning to launch a formal complaint with the Election commission in this attempt by DMK to bribe voters. Police and CISF personnel have now been increased in the district to ensure the elections take place in free and fair manner.

It is to be noted that in 2017, AMMK party members allegedly used a similar hawala route to bribe voters in R K Nagar, the seat that was vacated after death of former TN CM J Jayalalithaa. In 2018, a group of women, each armed with a Rs 20 note, mobbed AMMK party leader TTV Dhinakaran and demanded that he pay Rs 10,000 per vote as allegedly promised by him.