Historic lead for BJP in Karnataka, Congress fighting for second place with JDS

As the counting of votes for Karnataka Assembly elections enters the obvious zone, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has taken a lead on 112 seats while Congress is trailing in far second with a lead on 57 seats. Janata Dal (Secular) (JD-S) is close on the heels of Congress with a lead on 38 seats, as per the official trends by the Election Commission.

The chief ministerial candidates, BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa is leading from Shikaripura seat, Congress’ Siddaramaiah is trailing in both Badami seat and Chamudeshawari. Counting of votes began at 8 a.m. for 221 out of 224 assembly constituencies in 58,546 polling stations in the state.

The elections in two constituencies, Jayanagar and Rajarajeshwari Nagar, both in Bengaluru have been postponed earlier. A total of 2,654 candidates, including 216 women candidates were in the fray for the Assembly Elections this year.

The elections in Karnataka are being viewed by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as its gateway into South India. Since the 2014 general elections, the Congress party has been defeated by the BJP in over a dozen states, drastically shrinking its political footprint.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fielded 223 candidates, while the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) fielded 222 and 201 candidates respectively.

Out of the 224 seats, 36 of them are reserved for Scheduled Castes (SCs), while 15 of them are for Scheduled Tribes (STs). It may be noted that a party or an alliance needs 112 seats to form the government and BJP are in a comfortable position to form a majority Government in Karnataka.

As per inputs from ANI