Independent filmmakers to appeal against voting for BJP in upcoming polls

Over a thousand filmmakers from across the country have come together to form a platform against Prime Minister Narendra Modi and current ruling regime, weeks before the Loksabha elections. The filmmakers, most of whom are independent have launched a “Save Democracy” campaign to issue an appeal to the people of India not to vote for the BJP in the coming elections.

The group includes the likes of Vetri Maaran, Anand Patwardhan, Sanalkumar Sasidharan, Sudevan, Q, Deepa Dhanraj, Gurvinder Singh, Pushpendra Singh, Kabir Singh Chowdhry, Anjali Monteiro, Praveen Morchhale, Devashish Makhija and festival director and editor, Bina Paul.

On Friday, the group’s website went live on Internet. The reasons offered for their active stand against the BJP include the “unleashing of polarisation and hate politics; marginalisation of Dalits, Muslims and farmers; steady erosion of the cultural and scientific institutions; and increasing censorship,” among others.

“Though culturally vivid and geographically diverse, we have always stayed united… It has indeed been a great feeling to be a citizen of this wonderful country,” says the statement.

It goes on to say that all that is at stake now and that fascism threatens to strike us hard if we don’t choose wisely in the coming Lok Sabha election. The filmmakers allege that ever since the BJP came to power in 2014, the country has been polarised along religious lines.

According to them, the BJP and its allies have also failed miserably in keeping their election promises. “They are now using mob lynching and cow vigilantism to split the country communally.”