MCD Election Result 2017 LIVE Updates: BJP Set For Victory In Delhi !!

The counting is on for the crucial Delhi MCD elections 2017. The BJP is leading in all three municipal corporations in the capital, three days after voting took place in 270 wards across the three civic bodies – North Delhi Municipal Corporation, South Delhi Municipal Corporation and the East Delhi Municipal Corporation. Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party is neck and neck with the Congress in the race for the second spot in the three civic bodies. The overall turnout was recorded at 54 per cent, almost the same as the 2012 elections. Other parties which contested the election also include Swaraj India, the political arm of Swaraj Abhiyan – co-founded by activists Yogendra Yadav and Prashant Bhushan.

Exit polls had predicted a landslide victory for the BJP, which decided to field fresh faces instead of incumbent legislators. The results are also crucial for the AAP, as rivals have pegged the polls as a report card of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s two year rule in Delhi. The Congress, which saw its prominent city leaders quit ahead of the polls, hopes to make a significant impact after failing to win a single seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha poll and 2015 assembly elections in Delhi.

Source: NDTV