No-Confidence Motion: Modi govt sails through with 325 votes

The Narendra Modi government defeated the no-confidence motion brought against it by a comfortable 325 votes. Only 126 MPs supported the motion of no-confidence against the Modi government.

The day was dominated by two leaders — Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. While Rahul stunned the nation by hugging PM Modi in Lok Sabha, the prime minister targetted Gandhi’s Congress with a searing speech. Here are the highlights of the day.

Terming the no-trust vote against his government a result of the opposition’s “arrogance”, Modi had earlier called on all parties to dismiss the move and accused the Congress of working with the mindset of ‘Modi hatao’ (remove Modi). Responding to the debate on the motion, he said some people are indulging in “negative politics.” He also took a dig at Rahul Gandhi for asking him to stand up for a hug after walking across to his chair in the Lok Sabha, saying the Congress President appeared to be in a hurry to occupy his seat.

Only the electorate of the country can decide his fate and make him sit on his chair, Modi said, asking “what is the hurry”. Gandhi was present in the House when the Prime Minister made the statement.

Today’s no-confidence motion, the 27th in Parliamentary history, is the first to be admitted in 15 years. The last was in 2003 when the Congress party moved a no-confidence motion against prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.