Out of 22 Congress candidates in West UP, only one managed to save deposit

22 candidates of the Congress party had contested on from various constituencies of West Uttar Pradesh. Out of this one managed to save deposit. All other 21 candidates including state President Raj Babbar and veteran leader Salman Khurshid lost their deposits.

Congress’ Saharanpur candidate Imran Masood was the only one who could save his security deposit as he got 16.81 per cent votes.

According to the Election Commission of India rules, the contesting candidates are required to submit a security deposit of Rs 25,000. However, if any candidate gets less than one-sixth (16.66 per cent) of the total votes polled in the constituency, he/she loses his/her security deposit.

Following this embarrassing result, Babbar gave resignation from the post of state party President. Apart from Babbar and Khurshid, Congress candidates from Agra, Mathura, Aligarh, Hathras, Bareilly, Badaun, Aonla, Shahjahanpur, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Bulandshahr, Gautam Budh Nagar, Moradabad, Sambhal, Bijnor, Nagina, Amroha, Rampur, and Kairana also lost their security deposits.

Out of the 80 seats in UP, the Congress managed to win only the Rae Bareli seat contested by Sonia Gandhi.