Shivaji over Aurangzeb – Yogi Adityanath names Agra museum after the founder of Maratha empire

In a sudden but not surprising move from UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, the under construction museum in Agra which is supposed to showcase Mughal culture and history has now been named after arch rivals of the Mughals and founder of Maratha Empire, Chhatrapati Shivaji. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath said on Monday, “how can our heroes be Mughals,” he questioned in a meeting to review development works in the city, a government statement said. The leader declared that “anything which smacks of subservient mentality” will be done away with by his BJP government.

It is however yet not clear whether the very nature of the museum will change along with the name or not.

The move came as part of a review meeting of development works of Agra division. “Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath announced to name the under-construction Mughal Museum in Agra after Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj. He made it clear that his government always nurtured the nationalist ideology and anything which smacks of subservient mentality will be done away with,” a government spokesperson said.

The CM directed to complete remaining works in Agra Smart City Project and asserted that this project is among the priorities of his government and should be taken up with the same urgency. He also asked to expedite the Metro and Airport projects of Agra and said that no project should suffer due to want of money and he would personally speak to the Centre if any requirement of money arises.

He said that the AMRUT and JNNURM schemes should also be given impetus.

“Out of a total of 19 works under the Agra Smart City project, four have been completed while 15 are in progress. The time-line of every work is prepared and all these works will be completed by August 2021,” an official release said.
Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath was reviewing the projects worth over Rs 10 crore and other mega developmental projects of Agra division comprising Agra, Firozabad, Mainpuri and Mathura districts.