We have support of some Congress and JD(S) MLAs: BJP Leader Eshwarappa

Senior Karnataka Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader KS Eshwarappa on Wednesday said that their party is in touch with some Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) MLAs as they hope to stitch together a majority to form the government in the state.

“Many JD (S) and Congress MLAs are angry with Congress and JD(S) going together to form government, they will come with BJP. We have support of some Congress and JD(S) MLAs,” Eshwarappa told reporters here. He also asserted that BJP will form the government in the state.

Talking to ANI, Eshwarappa said, “There is no doubt we will form govt, 100 percent we’ll do that. Wait and watch. Results came out only yesterday. It has been only a day. See what can happen in Karnataka in a day.”

Eshwarappa bagged the Shivamogga seat with a tremendous margin in the Karnataka Assembly elections. He secured 1,04,027 votes, defeating Congress’ K.B. Prasanna Kumar by a margin of 46,107.

Meanwhile Congress leader Amaregouda Linganagouda Patil Bayyapur alleged that on Wednesday that he had received lucrative offers from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to switch his allegiance for the latter. “I got a call from the BJP leaders. They said come to us and we will give a ministry to you. We’ll make you a minister. But, I’m going to stay here. H. D. Kumaraswamy is our Chief Minister,” said Bayyapur.

“They (BJP) are poaching our MLAs, and we know that. Every day, there is a lot of pressure. But it not so easy, as two parties have the necessary numbers. However, we are taking all necessary steps,” Congress leader DK Shivakumar told ANI.

The BJP, which managed to gain a hold on 104 seats, has emerged as the single largest party but has failed to cross the half-way mark of 112 in the 224-member assembly.
On the other hand, Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) (JD-S), with 78 and 38 seats respectively, are staking claim to form a government in the state.

On Tuesday, outgoing Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah even said JD (S) leader H.D. Kumaraswamy, son of former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda, will be the next chief minister.

Further, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief ministerial candidate B.S. Yeddyurappa said he is going to meet the state’s governor to request him to allow his party to form the government.

All eyes are now set on Karnataka’s Governor Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala. As per the constitutional provision, the single-largest party is invited to form the government in the case of a fractured mandate.