West Bengal To Award Toppers Of All Boards Rs 10,000 Scholarship

West Bengal will give scholarships of Rs.10,000 each for all the toppers from the state of various boards, i.e, Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE), Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations (CISCE) – which conducts ICSE and ISC exams —  and West Bengal state boards. Chief Minister of the West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee today felicitated 248 toppers of class 10 and 12 examinations of various boards and she talked about the decision on the scholarships for higher studies during the programme.

  1. 248 toppers of West Bengal board to get scholarship.
  2. Toppers Of All Boards to be awarded Rs 10,000 Scholarship.
  3. The benefit will also reach the students who have topped competitive exam from the state.

These students topped the class 10 and 12 examinations conducted by the boards of West Bengal, the ICSE, the ISC, the CBSE and the WBJEE.

“Ours is a poor government. This is a small initiative to felicitate the meritorious students. I have taken a decision to open up bank accounts for all these students with a balance of Rs 10,000 which may help them in the future,” Mamta banerjee said.

The West Bengal Chief Minister also ordered the education department officials to process applications for scholarships for higher studies by students at the earliest.

There was a time when teachers used to think twice before giving full marks to students,” Ms  Banerjee said. “But our students have to compete with the world now. So, I had requested our education minister to ensure that our students also get marks on a par with ICSE or CBSE students. They have done really well,” she said.

The TMC Government has taken a decision to open up bank accounts of all these achievers and Rs 10,000 will be deposited in their account later. The government hopes that the money will help them in the future.

The Chief Minister expressed her condolences to the family members of 21-year-old Debabrata Pal, the budding cricketer who died after a cardiac arrest triggered after a lightning strike.

CBSE Class 10 and Class 12 results were declared on May 29 and May 26 respectively.